WPFF 2016: World Premieres Film Festival Philippines awards night

Last Sunday, the 3rd of July 2016 was a celebration of cinema and camaraderie as filmmakers and guests from all over the world came together at the Cinematheque Centre Manila for the World Premieres Film Festival (WPFF) 2016 Awards Night.

Actor Sandino Martin gives heartfelt speech after winning Best Actor award for ‘Ringgo The Dogshooter’ during World Premieres Film Festival 2016 Awards Night
Cast of ‘EDSA’ by Alvin Yapan receive Best Ensemble Award during World Premieres Film Festival 2016 Awards Night with juror Butch Perez

Cast, Director Rahyan Carlos with Producer Olivia Oteyza, Actor Sandino Martin, juror Butch Perez and supporting cast with awards at World Premieres Film Festival 2016 Awards Night

Director Camille Fontaine gives speech after receiving Best Ensemble Award for ‘By Accident’ during World Premieres Film Festival 2016 Awards Night

Director Sunshine Lichauco De Leon with Producer Suzanne Richardone and Editor Justin Weinrich onstage with juror Butch Perez after Jury Award for ‘Curiosity, Adventure and Love’

Director Tunku Mona Riza gives speech after receiving Best Actress for ‘Redha’ during World Premieres Film Festival 2016 Awards Night

Executive Producer, Madonna Sanchez of ‘EDSA’ directed by Alvin Yapan gives thanks after film receives Best Picture win

Filipino New Cinema cast, crew, directors and awardees during World Premieres Film Festival 2016 Awards Night

Gutierrez Mangansakan II gives speech after winning Best Artistic Contribution for ‘Daughters of the Three Tailed Banner’ during World Premieres Film Festival 2016 Awards Night

Vietnam delegation onstage with jurors  and Director Dinh Tuan Vu after winning Grand Jury Prize award for ‘Yen’s Life’ during World Premieres Film Festival 2016 Awards Night

The festooned Cinematheque courtyard was packed full with visitors, all dressed up and eager to discover who would be given top honors from this year’s WPFF. The attendees were treated to a round of refreshments and interviewed on their festival experience before the program started with a bang. Lively performances from world renowned violinist, John Lesaca and Pinoy world music band, Makiling, contributed to the festivities.

Audiences were presented with a look into what had happened during the festival opening night and gala premieres of the WPFF’s prestigious films, plus other special parallel events including the International Film Expo and the International Film Conference at the Cinematheque. The festival jury were introduced to the audience, and awards started to be given out to their lucky winners.

The Main Competition festival jury was composed of Ms. Beatrice de Pastre, the Head of the Archives at the Le Centre National Du Cinéma Et De L’image Animée or CNC in France; Ms Menene Gras Balguer, the Director of the Department of Culture and Exhibitions at Casa Asia in Spain; and Mr. Jonathan Hyong-Joon Kim, a veteran producer who currently operates his own multinational production company Hanmam Culture Group, in the festival’s Main Competition.

Next in the Intercontinental jury was Mr. Ernest Escaler, an acclaimed producer of film and broadway productions; Mr. Mike Sano, a film producer based in LA, and now back working in Japan; and Mr. Philip Cu-Unjieng, a journalist and columnist for the Philippine Star, as well as a renowned film critic.

Mr. George David, the General Manager of the Royal Film Commission, Jordan, and President of the Board of Directors of the Association of Film Commissioners International; Mr. Theodore Roper, a partner lawyer of Freeman Freeman & Smiley, LLP, based in Los Angeles, who also serves as a counsel to a number of Japanese corporations in the film industry; and Mr. Paolo Lee, an executive producer for Chinese cinema, coproduction expert, film manager, and acclaimed filmmaker, headed the ASEAN Skies section.

Heading the Filipino New Cinema section was Mr. Lav Diaz the acclaimed director of the recent Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis; Mr. Ruben Lopez-Pulido, the Director of Communications and Head of the Communications Unit of the AECID-Spanish International Cooperation Agency for the Development of the Government of Spain; and Mr. Butch Perez, an acclaimed Filipino filmmaker, famous films such as Haplos and Balweg.

The jury had a daunting task before them, but all the awarded recipients were deserving of their honors—and what with the advancement and proliferation of local and world cinema at the forefront of the WPFF, all filmmakers were triumphant that evening.

Top prizes went as follows, in the Main Competition: “Yen’s Life” directed by Dinh Tuan Vu from Vietnam received the Grand Festival Prize, and “Daughters of the Three Tailed Banner” directed by Gutierrez “Teng” Mangansakan II received the Grand Jury Prize.

In the Filipino New Cinema section, “EDSA” by Alvin B. Yapan garnered the Best Picture 1st Place, while “Ringgo: The Dogshooter’ directed by Rahyan Carlos took Best Picture 2nd place.

“Beast” (Philippines / Australia) directed by Tom and Sam McKeith received the ASEAN Skies Prize for Best Picture, while “The Storm Inside” directed by Fabrice Camoin won the Intercontinental Prize for Best Film as well as the Best Actress for Marina Foïs.

As the festival continues through the week with films screening all over the metro, we remain blessed to be in the presence of such immense creativity, vision, and talent.

From June 29 to July 10, the WPFF 2016 will be showing over 60 international films at the Cinematheque Centre Manila, as well as partner venues: SM Megamall, SM North EDSA, Greenbelt 3, the Shang Cineplex, and Uptown Cinemas.
Films will be shown at a festival price of P100 at all venues, unless indicated otherwise.
The World Premieres Film Festival Philippines runs until July 10 at the Cinematheque Centre Manila and all partnering cinemas. Throughout the Festival’s duration, expect a regular run of screenings.

For more information:

Website: http://www.wpff.ph

email: info@wpff.ph

Call: (02) 256 9908

Official Facebook page: www.facebook.com/worldpremieresfilmfestival

To join in the social media conversation, use official hashtags: #EnjoyTheScene #WPFF2016


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s